Quantcast Algebra. How is it useful in everyday life? - XP Math - Forums
XP Math Home Sign Up FREE! | Sign In | Classroom Setup | Common Core Alignment PDF Version

Go Back   XP Math - Forums > Welcome > Off-Topic Discussion

Old 07-17-2007   #1
Dan H

Default Algebra. How is it useful in everyday life?

My college algebra professor always says "this is the most important stuff you will learn in your entire life, so listen closely". My major is Journalism and I think the only time I will ever have to use math is when I am figuring out my check book balance and doing my taxes. Disagree/Agree? Provide Reasons.
Old 07-17-2007   #2
Cassandra S

I completely agree with you.I want to be a journalist someday too.Algebra to me is a complete waste of time,although geometry is another story.Well, I guess the more knowledge you have,the more it will help you in some occassions.
Old 07-17-2007   #3
centretek666

Mathematics is the most important subject you will ever learn.Math describes how everything in your environment works.Math allows you to measure and predict.Without mathematics your highest qualification will be 'house trained'.
Old 07-17-2007   #4
yasd

I have wondered that myself basic math yes but word problems etc not once has my boss came in and said train a is going 60 miles per hour and train b is going 40 miles per hour when will they collide.
Old 07-17-2007   #5
wushuboy001